Scroll to content
School Logo

Red Kite Special Academy

Learn together, Fly together

Interactive Bar

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search




At Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11) our learners have the opportunity to study a range of Accreditations (Edexcel, Pearsons, AQA, Arts Award, RSL and ASDAN). The learners continue their studies in English, Maths, Careers and PSHE, and physical education. Learners also have the opportunity of choosing options to study throughout Key stage 4: including Music Arts Award, Food Technology, Computing Technology, Photography, Horticulture, Sport, ASDAN.


Accreditation continues at Key Stage 5 (Years 12 and 13) through, AQA Unit Awards, Edexcel, AQA, RSL and ASDAN. 


Whilst in Key Stage 4, learners choose options to study alongside the core curriculum.

PSHE is taught across the curriculum and R.E. is taught across the school day including SMSC/Collective Worship/Celebrating Achievement, as well as through theme based designated R.E. Days.


Accreditation is offered from pre-entry level to level 2 at Red Kite at Key Stages 4 and pre-entry level to level 1 in Key Stage 5. Learners who achieve level 2 at Key Stage 4 are supported by staff to transition onto further education placements. This forms part of our commitment to learners to support their transition into the wider community and development of independent living skills, preparing for adulthood, further education and employment. 


Red Kite have chosen to use AQA Unit Award scheme so that If a student poses with a particular skills/interest however none of the options being offered cover this area of learning, we can devise a programme of study using the AQA unit Award Scheme using short study modules from pre entry level – level 1. AQA Unit awards provide vocational and practical learning through activities.  We strongly believe all learners at Red Kite are individual and therefore, their curriculum should consider and reflect this where possible.